Forced Appetite

I stood at the gate of awake and sleepy, while the humid air clanging to me. After a few minutes of wrestling with myself, I finally rose craving something refreshing, water, fruit, anything really to quench this thirst and chase the warmth away. I knew I needed more nutrition than water to make it through the day; So, I reached for the board, pulled my favorite knife from the drawer and climbed into the fridge.

DSC_0149.JPG

Crack, whisk, chop, shred, toast, spread, sizzle.

In minutes, my omelette, toast, bacon, and watermelon adorned my plate. I watched the silver fork cut into the egg, separating the cheese, lifted it to my tongue and forced myself to chew. It was the slowest I have ever eaten, standing at the kitchen counter hoping for a reprieve, a gust of wind, anything to bring back my appetite and wipe the sweat from my brow.

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

